Learn a new skill

National Pool Lifeguard Qualification

(NPLQ) NPLQ is widely accepted by swimming pools in the UK and Ireland as a minimum qualification as a role of a lifeguard within the swimming pool.

The NPLQ course includes 3 sections:

  • Section 1 - The lifeguard and the Law, Swimming Pool and Supervision
  • Section 2 - Intervention and Rescue and Emergency Action Plans
  • Section 3 - Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and First Aid.
  • Section 4 - AED The course includes swimming pool rescue skills, basic life support, basic First Aid, managing a casualty suffering from a spinal injury, managing a swimming pool environment, identifying hazards that could cause harm to users and much more.

Every candidate attending a NPLQ course must be 16-years-old at the time of taking the NPLQ final assessment and be able to:

  • Jump/dive into deep water Swim 50 metres in less than 60 seconds.
  • Swim 100 metres continuously on front and back in deep water.
  • Tread water for 30 seconds Surface dive to the floor of the pool.
  • Climb out unaided without ladder/steps and where the pool design allows.

For more information regarding National Pool lifeguard qualification courses and to find out when the next one is please email enquirieswaendel@pfplesiure.org

Enquire online

For more information or to make a booking please complete this booking form and email it through to us.