Training Courses

National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ)

NPLQ is widely accepted by swimming pools in the UK and Ireland as a minimum qualification as a role of a lifeguard within the swimming pool. We deliver the RLSS National Pool Lifeguard Qualification, which is a five day intensive course followed by an external assessment, required to supervise a pool used for open public swimming.

For more information  enquire here 

The NPLQ course includes 3 sections:

  • Section 1 - The lifeguard and the Law, Swimming Pool and Supervision
  • Section 2 - Intervention and Rescue and Emergency Action Plans 
  • Section 3 - Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and First Aid. 
  • Section 4 - AED

The course includes swimming pool rescue skills, basic life support, basic First Aid, managing a casualty suffering from a spinal injury, managing a swimming pool environment, identifying hazards that could cause harm to users and much more. 

Every candidate attending an NPLQ course must be 16-years-old at the time of taking the NPLQ final assessment and be able to: 

  • Jump/dive into deep water
  • Swim 50 metres in less than 60 seconds 
  • Swim 100 metres continuously on front and back in deep water 
  • Tread water for 30 seconds 
  • Surface dive to the floor of the pool
  • Climb out unaided without ladder/steps and where the pool design allows 

Successful candidates will receive: 

  • RLSS NPLQ certificate for each candidate 
  • RLSS NPLQ Lifeguard manual for each candidate 
  • Handouts and revision sheets for each candidate


  • 5-day course 
  • In partnership with the Royal Lifesaving Society.
  • £250

Course dates: 2022

  • February 21st - 25th 
  • April 18th - 22nd 
  • May 30th - 3rd June 
  • August 22nd - 26th 
  • October 24th - 28th